Reviews of the Works of John E. Stith

Titlesort descending View
Reunion on Neverend

"absorbing, fast-paced action and witty dialogue."

1994-07-01 July 1994 Booklist Carl Hays view
Reunion on Neverend

"One part mystery, one part other worlds adventure, this is a well controlled and thoroughly entertaining joyride right up through its final pages."

1994-07-01 July 1994 Science Fiction Chronicle Don D'Ammassa view
Reunion on Neverend

"As quick-witted as his previous Manhattan Transfer...a thriller couched in science fiction terms, with high-tech equipment and exotic surveillance devices."

1994-08-01 Date unknown Chicago Tribune David E. Jones view
Reunion on Neverend

"Reunion on Neverend is a fast-paced, fun thriller, chasing love and interplanetary thieves."

1994-08-28 28 August 1994 Denver Post Fred Cleaver view
Reunion on Neverend

"A reunion with a sense of wonder awaits us in John Stith's latest SF thriller. What Stith has accomplished in this book is a sprightly, fast-paced humorous romance."

1994-09-01 September 1994 Science Fiction Age Paul Di Filippo view
Reunion on Neverend

"You won't want to miss."

1994-01-30 30 October 1994 Rocky Mountain News Mark Graham view
Reunion on Neverend

"The hero, Lan Dillion, is a secret agent who has to lie about what he does for a living when he returns to the world of Neverend, where people live entirely underground, for a school reunion."

1994-12-01 December 1994 Analog Tom Easton view
Reunion on Neverend

"Stith's writing is direct, delightful, and uncomplicated. His approach is a mixture of SF, espionage, and William Powell/Myrna Loy-style action, which should please any fans who look for a little fun in their reading."

1995-02-01 February 1995 Starlog Michael Wolff view
Reunion on Neverend

"It's reminiscent of Clarke and Heinlein--lots of technology and interplanetary travel with characters that are appealing and a non-stop plot."

1995-02-01 February 1995 Voice of Youth Advocates Rosemary Moran view
Reunion on Neverend

"...my favorite Stith book, even though I read it some time ago. It's a detective story, a sci fi novel, an espionage thriller, and a hell of a good read, with more cool high tech surveillance equipment than you can shake a laser rifle at. The story reads a lot like a faster-paced 'Thin Man' movie, staring one-eyed into the face of death with a gun in one hand and a martini in the other. Enjoy!"

1997-10-15 October 1997 Mars Hotel Jerry & April view
Reunion on Neverend

"Good Science Fiction has always transcended the genre: stories that contained Mystery, Romance, and a bit of fun mixed in with the bold Futurism. And of those that do it well, and in a way that appeals to readers of all ages, REUNION ON NEVEREND is one of the very best."

2016-03-01 Author quote Author Quote James A. Owen view
Reunion on Neverend

"a great scifi read"

See full review here.

2016-10-03 3 October 2016 J Bronder Book Reviews Jessica Bronder view
Reunion on Neverend

"I'm not a huge fan of Sci-Fi, but the mystery and reunion between characters piqued my interest. I'm glad to say that I enjoyed it! Lan and Parke were funny together. ...

"This book started out strong for me, then slowed down a bit in the middle, and then really picked up again at the end. It wasn't too heavy on the Sci-Fi, which was perfect for me. There is some light romance as well. The author is currently re-releasing most of his titles and I am interested in reading more!"

See the full review here.

2016-10-03 3 October 2016 Mel's Shelves Melanie view
Reunion on Neverend

A fast paced, fun mystery with plenty of adventure and excitement.  Set in a mesh of other worlds, Reunion on Neverend successfully took me far away. The world building was magnificent and I could picture the volcanic cave formations on Neverend and the homes and shops carved out of them.  For me, the best part was the mix of characters and how they worked to solve Tessa’s museum mystery.  I knew Lan was hiding a secret from the very beginning, his unbecoming demeanor camouflaged his overwhelming knowledge and physical capabilities. Paired with his much larger friend, Parke, they made an intimidating duo.  Once the group gets together to outwit a duo interested in Tessa’s museum for maniacal means, action, adventure and comedy prevail.  Lan’s means of frustrating the thieves was ingenious and hilarious.  Usually I’m not huge on space adventure, but this science fiction mystery was perfect for me.

See the full review here.

2016-10-11 10/11/2016 Stephanie's Book Reviews Stephanie Thornton view
Scapescope

"Tried-and-true Alfred Hitchcock sort of plot."

1984-12-01 December 1984 Mile High Futures Edward Bryant view
Scapescope

"I hope to see more from Stith."

1984-12-09 9 December 1984 Denver Post Don C. Thompson view
Scapescope

"Fascinating."

1985-02-02 2 February 1985 Cheyenne Edition Nell Womack Evans view
Scapescope

"Well-written and well-plotted, with several surprises. Scapescope is a fine, enjoyable first novel."

1985-07-01 July 1985 Galactic Dispatch Joe Sokola view
Scapescope

"Fast-paced."

1985-08-01 August 1985 Modem Times Jennifer Petkus view
Scapescope

"Entertainingly written."

1985-09-01 September 1985 Science Fiction Chronicle Don D'Ammassa view
Scapescope

"I like how the story developed and it was full of twists and turns along the way. It's one of those stories that made me think about what I would do if I was ever in Mike's situation. I'm not sure that I would be smart enough to figure things out or have the courage to do everything he did.... this is an author you will definitely want to check out!"

See full review here.

2017-05-01 1 May 2017 Mel's Shelves Melanie Valderrama view

Pages