Reviews of the Works of John E. Stith

Title View
Pushback

"... reported through the wry voice of John Stith, who serves up this surprising tale with his customary eye for detail, keen sense of humor, and immersion in decades of popular culture."

See the full review here.

The review was also posted on Criminal Media.

2019-08-18 18 August 2019 Infinite Regress Paul Levinson view
Pushback

"Pushback is pulsating, action packed, and beautifully paced. One of those books that grips you from the start and forces you to read on until the exhilarating denouement."

See the full review here.

2019-03-29 29 March 2019 Readers' Favorite Romuald Dzemo view
Pushback

"Ordinary Hijacked by Extraordinary, With Comedy"

"what’s most captivating about PUSHBACK is that even with people like Dave Barlow—just an average guy doing average things—life can take a shocking turn for the worse. But the book reminds us that, also like Dave, we have the power to turn it right-side up again, with humor at the center of our inner strength."

See full review/interview here.

2018-12-01 December 2018 The Big Thrill (newsletter of International Thriller Writers) K. L. Romo view
Pushback

"...meticulously well-plotted and insightful novel of psychological suspense that plumbs the deepest depths of the human heart and soul."

See the full review here.

2018-11-26 26 November 2018 Mysterious Book Report John Dwaine McKenna view
Pushback

"Stith...successfully expands his horizons with this unsettling Hitchcockian thriller.... Judicious use of humor provides some relief from the dark plot line. Fans of Daniel Palmer-esque intelligent suspense will be pleased."

See the full review here.

2018-11-12 Publishers Weekly view
Pushback

Top-notch thriller.... I couldn't put the book down.... I hope Stith will keep pushing into the crime fiction area. He's a natural.

See the full review here.

2018-10-28 28 October 2018 Kingdom Books Beth Kanell view
Pushback

"John Stith long ago showed himself master of the science fiction genre. With PUSHBACK, he proves he’s also a terrific mystery novelist. PUSHBACK is dynamite! Stith takes you on a gripping ride of twists and turns while the tension tightens like a noose, right up to the thrilling conclusion. A sympathetic and enterprising hero and a stop-at-nothing villain will make you just as eager as Dave Barlow to figure out who wants to ruin him. And who wants him dead."

2018-06-18 18 June 2018 Author Quote Barbara Nickless view
Pushback

"John Stith's PUSHBACK is a fast-paced ride that gives new definition to the term 'bad week.' Besieged and belittled by a barrage of attacks, Dave Barlow's brutal trek through purgatory is a taut, tense thriller.  Dave Barlow's self-effacing commentary--and John Stith's smooth prose--will have you gobbling up the pages faster than Barlow zooms all over the Pikes Peak region trying to figure out where his life went so terribly, terribly wrong."

2018-06-10 10 June 2018 Author Quote Mark Stevens view
Pushback

"PUSHBACK is a fast-paced crime novel guaranteed to keep you reading into the night. When financial advisor Dave Barlow finds himself the victim of a hoax, he soon discovers he has everything to lose. Accelerating through enough twists and turns to keep you guessing, PUSHBACK ramps up to a heart-pounding ending that will leave you breathless. Stith, known for his award-winning science fiction, really brings it home in his debut mystery. Bring on the next installment!"

2018-04-30 30 April 2018 Author Quote Chris Goff view
Pushback

"Some people dream about going to their high-school reunion in their underwear.  Dave Barlow goes to his and finds himself worse than naked--unrecognized.  A lovely, twisty thriller that moves like a roller coaster--ratcheting up the suspense, then plunging into crisis, or doing a swift loop-the-loop through the flashbacks of PTSD before the climb starts again."

2017-10-17 17 October 2017 Author Quote Diana Gabaldon view
Scapescope

"I like how the story developed and it was full of twists and turns along the way. It's one of those stories that made me think about what I would do if I was ever in Mike's situation. I'm not sure that I would be smart enough to figure things out or have the courage to do everything he did.... this is an author you will definitely want to check out!"

See full review here.

2017-05-01 1 May 2017 Mel's Shelves Melanie Valderrama view
Death Tolls

"... I couldn't read it fast enough."

See full review here.

2017-03-18 18 March 2017 Mel's Shelves Melanie Valderrama view
Redshift Rendezvous

"Stith is old school in the best possible way, and Redshift Rendezvous is my favorite. ... hard science fiction at its hardest, invoking the theory of relativity as part of life on a starship. It's also a space adventure. All happenings in the book check out science-wise. I know that doesn't really happen in SF books, but that's what I'm saying."

2016-11-28 28 November 2016 Revolution Science Fiction Joe Crowe view
Manhattan Transfer

Now this book answers the question as to whether or not there is life out there in the universe besides us, by introducing us to a race of aliens, who express their curiosity about mankind in the most extreme fashion by carving the city of Manhattan out of the ground and transporting it and the people within the city limits to a planet far, far away and well...I'm going to leave it at that for the plot because this is an intricate story that needs to be experienced and that's largely due to the fact that Mister Stith does such an incredible job of world building. In fact that's really what we are going to be talking about today when it comes to this review, John's amazing ability to create a world and draw you in because once you open this book up, you're going to have trouble putting it down. ...

It's refreshing to say the least because by getting us right into the story and right into the mess these characters are in, we are instantly part of this world and instantly part of their lives and now we are vested and have to know how it ends, and that's where the fun begins since in no time, you find yourself turning page after page to understand more about this strange new world and the incredible situation the people of Manhattan are now faced with. ...

if you're a fan of science fiction and are looking for a fun novel that delivers a unique idea and wastes no time in giving you everything you want, check out Manhattan Transferyou'll be glad you did.

Full review at Nerds That Geek.

 

2016-10-18 10/18/2016 Nerds That Geek John Edward Betancourt view
Reunion on Neverend

A fast paced, fun mystery with plenty of adventure and excitement.  Set in a mesh of other worlds, Reunion on Neverend successfully took me far away. The world building was magnificent and I could picture the volcanic cave formations on Neverend and the homes and shops carved out of them.  For me, the best part was the mix of characters and how they worked to solve Tessa’s museum mystery.  I knew Lan was hiding a secret from the very beginning, his unbecoming demeanor camouflaged his overwhelming knowledge and physical capabilities. Paired with his much larger friend, Parke, they made an intimidating duo.  Once the group gets together to outwit a duo interested in Tessa’s museum for maniacal means, action, adventure and comedy prevail.  Lan’s means of frustrating the thieves was ingenious and hilarious.  Usually I’m not huge on space adventure, but this science fiction mystery was perfect for me.

See the full review here.

2016-10-11 10/11/2016 Stephanie's Book Reviews Stephanie Thornton view
Reunion on Neverend

"a great scifi read"

See full review here.

2016-10-03 3 October 2016 J Bronder Book Reviews Jessica Bronder view
Reunion on Neverend

"I'm not a huge fan of Sci-Fi, but the mystery and reunion between characters piqued my interest. I'm glad to say that I enjoyed it! Lan and Parke were funny together. ...

"This book started out strong for me, then slowed down a bit in the middle, and then really picked up again at the end. It wasn't too heavy on the Sci-Fi, which was perfect for me. There is some light romance as well. The author is currently re-releasing most of his titles and I am interested in reading more!"

See the full review here.

2016-10-03 3 October 2016 Mel's Shelves Melanie view
Deep Quarry

"This book I really enjoyed. It has a bit of everything.... It was a really good read."

See the full review here.

2016-08-26 26 August 2016 Velvet and Vibranium Kelly Hoggons view
Deep Quarry

"riveting and fascinating...a wonderful piece of fiction that I really don’t think you should miss"

Full review here.

2016-07-08 8 July 2016 A Daydreamer's Thoughts Faye view
Deep Quarry

"This was a great story and one that I recommend everyone check out."

Full review here.

2016-07-06 6 July 2016 J Bronder Book Reviews Jessica Bronder view
Deep Quarry

"... good, old-fashioned, sense of wonder SF. ... an excellent read."

Full review here.

2016-06-29 29 June 2016 Amazing Stories David Kilman view
Reunion on Neverend

"Good Science Fiction has always transcended the genre: stories that contained Mystery, Romance, and a bit of fun mixed in with the bold Futurism. And of those that do it well, and in a way that appeals to readers of all ages, REUNION ON NEVEREND is one of the very best."

2016-03-01 Author quote Author Quote James A. Owen view
Reckoning Infinity

"There's no stopping until you reach the final page… Savor the artistry of Stith."

1998-08-17 Mid-August 1998 SF Site Lisa DuMond view
Manhattan Transfer

"As with all of Stith's books, this one was written with his tongue planted firmly in his cheek. He has a way of writing enjoyable sci-fi, full of adventure and endearing characters, without taking his subject too seriously. This book definitely puts the fun back into alien abduction."

1997-10-15 October 1997 Mars Hotel Jerry & April view
Reckoning Infinity

"Although the book is not meant to be a comedy by any means, I can only describe it as a cross between 'Rama' and 'James and the Giant Peach', and I had a great time reading it."

1997-10-15 October 1997 Mars Hotel Jerry & April view

Pages