Reviews of the Works of John E. Stith

Title View
Scapescope

"I like how the story developed and it was full of twists and turns along the way. It's one of those stories that made me think about what I would do if I was ever in Mike's situation. I'm not sure that I would be smart enough to figure things out or have the courage to do everything he did.... this is an author you will definitely want to check out!"

See full review here.

2017-05-01 1 May 2017 Mel's Shelves Melanie Valderrama view
Death Tolls

"... I couldn't read it fast enough."

Full review at http://melsshelves.blogspot.com/2017/03/book-re-releasereview-death-toll...

2017-03-18 18 March 2017 Mel's Shelves Melanie Valderrama view
Redshift Rendezvous

"Stith is old school in the best possible way, and Redshift Rendezvous is my favorite. ... hard science fiction at its hardest, invoking the theory of relativity as part of life on a starship. It's also a space adventure. All happenings in the book check out science-wise. I know that doesn't really happen in SF books, but that's what I'm saying."

2016-11-28 28 November 2016 Revolution Science Fiction Joe Crowe view
Manhattan Transfer

Now this book answers the question as to whether or not there is life out there in the universe besides us, by introducing us to a race of aliens, who express their curiosity about mankind in the most extreme fashion by carving the city of Manhattan out of the ground and transporting it and the people within the city limits to a planet far, far away and well...I'm going to leave it at that for the plot because this is an intricate story that needs to be experienced and that's largely due to the fact that Mister Stith does such an incredible job of world building. In fact that's really what we are going to be talking about today when it comes to this review, John's amazing ability to create a world and draw you in because once you open this book up, you're going to have trouble putting it down. ...

It's refreshing to say the least because by getting us right into the story and right into the mess these characters are in, we are instantly part of this world and instantly part of their lives and now we are vested and have to know how it ends, and that's where the fun begins since in no time, you find yourself turning page after page to understand more about this strange new world and the incredible situation the people of Manhattan are now faced with. ...

if you're a fan of science fiction and are looking for a fun novel that delivers a unique idea and wastes no time in giving you everything you want, check out Manhattan Transferyou'll be glad you did.

Full review at Nerds That Geek.

 

2016-10-18 10/18/2016 Nerds That Geek John Edward Betancourt view
Reunion on Neverend

A fast paced, fun mystery with plenty of adventure and excitement.  Set in a mesh of other worlds, Reunion on Neverend successfully took me far away. The world building was magnificent and I could picture the volcanic cave formations on Neverend and the homes and shops carved out of them.  For me, the best part was the mix of characters and how they worked to solve Tessa’s museum mystery.  I knew Lan was hiding a secret from the very beginning, his unbecoming demeanor camouflaged his overwhelming knowledge and physical capabilities. Paired with his much larger friend, Parke, they made an intimidating duo.  Once the group gets together to outwit a duo interested in Tessa’s museum for maniacal means, action, adventure and comedy prevail.  Lan’s means of frustrating the thieves was ingenious and hilarious.  Usually I’m not huge on space adventure, but this science fiction mystery was perfect for me.

See the full review here.

2016-10-11 10/11/2016 Stephanie's Book Reviews Stephanie Thornton view
Reunion on Neverend

"I'm not a huge fan of Sci-Fi, but the mystery and reunion between characters piqued my interest. I'm glad to say that I enjoyed it! Lan and Parke were funny together. ...

"This book started out strong for me, then slowed down a bit in the middle, and then really picked up again at the end. It wasn't too heavy on the Sci-Fi, which was perfect for me. There is some light romance as well. The author is currently re-releasing most of his titles and I am interested in reading more!"

See the full review here.

2016-10-03 3 October 2016 Mel's Shelves Melanie view
Reunion on Neverend

"a great scifi read"

See full review here.

2016-10-03 3 October 2016 J Bronder Book Reviews Jessica Bronder view
Deep Quarry

"This book I really enjoyed. It has a bit of everything.... It was a really good read."

See the full review here.

2016-08-26 26 August 2016 Velvet and Vibranium Kelly Hoggons view
Deep Quarry

"riveting and fascinating...a wonderful piece of fiction that I really don’t think you should miss"

Full review here.

2016-07-08 8 July 2016 A Daydreamer's Thoughts Faye view
Deep Quarry

"This was a great story and one that I recommend everyone check out."

Full review here.

2016-07-06 6 July 2016 J Bronder Book Reviews Jessica Bronder view
Deep Quarry

"... good, old-fashioned, sense of wonder SF. ... an excellent read."

Full review here.

2016-06-29 29 June 2016 Amazing Stories David Kilman view
Reunion on Neverend

"Good Science Fiction has always transcended the genre: stories that contained Mystery, Romance, and a bit of fun mixed in with the bold Futurism. And of those that do it well, and in a way that appeals to readers of all ages, REUNION ON NEVEREND is one of the very best."

2016-03-01 Author quote Author Quote James A. Owen view
Reckoning Infinity

"There's no stopping until you reach the final page… Savor the artistry of Stith."

1998-08-17 Mid-August 1998 SF Site Lisa DuMond view
Manhattan Transfer

"As with all of Stith's books, this one was written with his tongue planted firmly in his cheek. He has a way of writing enjoyable sci-fi, full of adventure and endearing characters, without taking his subject too seriously. This book definitely puts the fun back into alien abduction."

1997-10-15 October 1997 Mars Hotel Jerry & April view
Reckoning Infinity

"Although the book is not meant to be a comedy by any means, I can only describe it as a cross between 'Rama' and 'James and the Giant Peach', and I had a great time reading it."

1997-10-15 October 1997 Mars Hotel Jerry & April view
Reunion on Neverend

"...my favorite Stith book, even though I read it some time ago. It's a detective story, a sci fi novel, an espionage thriller, and a hell of a good read, with more cool high tech surveillance equipment than you can shake a laser rifle at. The story reads a lot like a faster-paced 'Thin Man' movie, staring one-eyed into the face of death with a gun in one hand and a martini in the other. Enjoy!"

1997-10-15 October 1997 Mars Hotel Jerry & April view
Reckoning Infinity

"Wondrous situations, marvelous discoveries, good characters, and a nicely tuned plot."

1997-10-01 October 1997 Science Fiction Chronicle Don D'Ammassa view
Reckoning Infinity

"When you sit down with RECKONING INFINITY, plan to spend some time.  Because once you start, believe me, you'll be hooked.  John E. Stith writes like a house on fire, propelling you into a crazy, fun-house world, where everything is dangerously upside down and inside out--with no exit in sight."

1997-08-01 August 1997 Science Fiction Book Club Unknown view
Reckoning Infinity

"vividly imagined, from the big opening scenes of the shuttle-habitat collision, to the descriptions of the medical procedures used to save Alis's life, to the small details of working (and being injured) in spacesuits."

1997-07-01 July 1997 Locus Russell Letson view
Reckoning Infinity

"Readers are treated to another voyage through John Stith's imagination with his eighth novel, Reckoning Infinity." (reprint of review in Gazette)

1997-06-16 16 June 1997 Chicago Tribune Lou Gonzales view
Reckoning Infinity

"John Stith is among the finest writers of hard science fiction in the world. ... In what can best be described as 'The Six-Million Dollar Woman' meets 'Rendezvous with Rama,' Stith will keep you turning the pages as he reveals the marvels of an alien 'moonscape.'"

1997-06-08 8 June 1997 Rocky Mountain News Mark Graham view
Reckoning Infinity

"Stith's storytelling gets better with each book. The engineer in him satisfies hardcore sci-fi readers with all the technological nuts and bolts they have come to expect. But the storyteller in him puts real people back into science fiction."

1997-05-18 18 May 1997 Gazette Lou Gonzales view
Reckoning Infinity

"Author John E. Stith presents a riveting story of wonder and discovery. The sense of excitement as the characters discover new and alien environments and technology literally flows from the pages to infect the reader. John E. Stith may very well be this generation's Arthur C. Clarke."

1997-05-01 May 1997 Comics Corner Unknown view
Reckoning Infinity

"[Reckoning Infinity] has realistic character interactions, plenty of complications (with suspense to match) and more than enough puzzles for a great computer game."

1997-04-13 13 April 1997 San Diego Union-Tribune unknown view
Reckoning Infinity

"The well-paced suspense shows Stith's mystery background." (reprint of Denver Post review)

1997-04-01 April 1997 DASFAx Fred Cleaver view

Pages